Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

General Information:


The Falcon 9 is a family of two-stage-to-orbit launch vehicles, named for its use of nine first-stage engines. The Falcon 9 is a partially-reusable launch system. Both stages are powered by rocket engines that burn liquid oxygen (LOX) and rocket-grade kerosene (RP-1) propellants. The first stage is designed to be reusable, while the second stage is not. The Falcon 9 versions are in the medium-lift to heavy-lift range of launch systems. The current Falcon 9 can lift payloads of up to 22,800 kilograms (50,300 lb) to low Earth orbit, and up to 8,300 kilograms (18,300 lb) to geostationary transfer orbit.

Info About Org/Individual

The Falcon 9 family of rockets is developed by SpaceX.

Progress Status

Commercial: Mature

Est Investment Cost



Est Time to Maturity



  1. "Falcon 9." SpaceX. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 Sept. 2016. <>.


  • No labels